Calculus Humor

Completely frivolous post.

OK, my Halloween “costume” at school this year was pretty lame, but I actually did put a minute amount of thought into it.

photo

In case you can’t read the sign, it says \int 3(ice)^2d(ice).  If you remember some calculus and treat ice as your variable, that works out to ice^3–An Ice Cube!  Ha!

But it gets better.  As there weren’t any bounds, adding the random constant of integration makes it ice^3+C or “Ice Cube + C”, or maybe “Ice Cube + Sea”–I was really dressed up as an Iceberg.  Ha! Ha!  Having no idea how to dress like an iceberg, I wore a light blue shirt for the part of the iceberg above the water and dark blue pants for the part below the water.  I tried to be clever even if the underlying joke was just “punny”.

Then a colleague posted another integral joke I’d seen sometime before.  It has some lovely extensions, so I’ll share that, too.

What is \int \frac{d(cabin)}{cabin}?

At first glance, it’s a “log cabin.”  Funny.

But notationally, the result is actually ln(cabin), so the environmentalists out there will appreciate that the answer is really a “natural log cabin.”  Even funnier.

The most correct solution is ln(cabin)+C.  If you call the end “+ Sea”, then the most clever answer is that \int \frac{d(cabin)}{cabin} is a “Houseboat”.  Ha!

Hope you all had some fun.

2 responses to “Calculus Humor

  1. My high school calculus teacher shared both of these with our class back in the late 80s, and I share them with my students, too. I’ve never thought about using them as part of a costume, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

