Clever math

Here are what I think are three clever uses of math by students.

This was a gift certificate I received from a student last month from a graduating senior.

1

In my last week of classes at my former school in May, 2013, my entire Honors Precalculus class showed up wearing these shirts designed by one of my students, M.  The back listed all of the students and a lovely “We will miss you.”  As much as I liked the use of a polar function, I loved that M opted not for the simplest possible version of the equation (r=2-2sin(\theta )), but for a rotation–a perfect use of my transformations theme for the course.

2

Now for a throwback.  When I was a graduate student and TA at Syracuse from 1989-1990, one of my fellow grad students designed this shirt for all of the math and math ed students.  I don’t remember who designed it, but I’ve always loved this shirt.

3

Leave a Reply

